Boards for Big Guys

Discussion in 'Bodyboarding Chat' started by jackdaw, Nov 17, 2005.

1. jackdaw

jackdaw Grom

Hi Guys newbie here

Went in this summer,absolutely brill.

Ended up buying a Vision gl42 ,with vortex fins.

the fins are ok but the board just dont seem right,went in 3 wks ago and was told by locals that the board wasnt bouyant enough for me.any advice would be appreciated,also any recomended shops to get fitted,coming down south west nxt w/end .

I'm nearly (15-13)16stone and 6'2" with thick legs.

papawoolacombe recomended this site so i've come over to join ya,good to know it's just b/bers.nice site!!

2. bellyboarder

bellyboarder Pro Rider

im a big guy too im 6/4 and 19st i ride a ms 43.6in for normal breaks and a nmd base 42in for heavy waves. ull prob be best with a 43- 43.5 bat tail . bat tails have more float in the tail. so if u got big legs it will help u get sum speed up . if u speak to dave at bodyboardinghq or sam at fsc they will get you the right board . they arnt the sales ppl who just want ur money they will get the best board for you

3. Ads

Ads El Floppo King

Thick legs ay! mmmmmm. I'm 5ft 10 and I used to ride a 43. I agree with bellyboarder, but it does depend on what works for you. I like a cresent tail and I mainly prone, if you can try a few of your mates boards out before you have a go then all the better. That held me back because i didn't do it, took me till recently to find a shape I'm 100% with.

4. bellyboarder

bellyboarder Pro Rider

i know wot you mean ads .when i was younger id go for the pricey boards ,but they just held me back then after about my 10th board. i relised that the simple boards work fine for me i only ride cresent tail boards . ive had 1 bbat tail and hated it but i tryed a wing pin tail and that was ok . but im on 30th board so i know wot i like now lol shame that when i find a nice board it dies to quik

5. jackdaw

jackdaw Grom